The California Legislature just passed a new law that will require most employers to pay for up to 3 days of sick leave for employees. Each employee will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. After 90 days of employment, employees can begin using their paid sick days. The sick days can be used for the employee’s own health condition, or a health condition of a child, spouse, registered domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling. Employers will not be required to pay out accrued unused sick leave at time of termination. The Governor is a big supporter of this bill and is expected to sign this bill. The law will go into effect on July 1, 2015.
- 18 Dec 2020Cal-OSHA issues COVID-19 rules for all employers
- 18 May 2020COVID-19 Return to Work Guidelines
- 01 Apr 2020Families First Information
- 03 Aug 2018California Supreme Court Rules That Employees Should Be Paid For Small Off-The-Clock Tasks
- 02 May 2018Proving a Worker is an Independent Contractor Just Got a Lot More Difficult